The Pan African Film Festival (28)



Fristen

11 Jun 2019
Aufruf zu Einschreibungen

10 Jul 2019
Frühe Frist

30 Sep 2019
Standard-Frist

20 Okt 2019
Späte Frist

20 Dez 2019
Verlängerte Frist

3
Monate

02 Jan 2020
Benachrichtigungsdatum

06 Feb 2020
17 Feb 2020

Adresse

6820 LaTijera Blvd. Ste 200,  90045, Los Angeles, California, United States


Festival Beschreibung
Kurzfilme
Spielfilme


 Qualifizierendes Festival
Festival Anforderungen
 Fiktion
 Dokumentarfilm
 Animation
 Fantastisch
 Terror
 Experimental
 Musik-Video
 Andere
 Alle Genre
 Alle Themen
 Hat Einsende-Gebühren
 Internationales Festival
 Physischer Standort
 Januar 2017
 Produktionsländer: Jede
 Länder Dreharbeiten: Jede
 Nationalitäten Regisseur: Jede
 Debütfilme 
 Schulprojekte 
 Sprachen 
English
 Untertitel 
English
Share on Social Networks
 Facebook 
 Tweet



Photo of The Pan African Film Festival
Photo of The Pan African Film Festival

Photo of The Pan African Film Festival
Photo of The Pan African Film Festival

English
German ML


Festival Start: 06 Februar 2020      Festival Ende: 17 Februar 2020

Wussten Sie, dass jedes Jahr in Los Angeles, CA, eine Transformation stattfindet? Menschen aus der ganzen Welt versammeln sich, um das größte und prestigeträchtigste Schwarzfilmfestival in den Vereinigten Staaten zu besuchen. Von 100 Millionen Dollar Blockbuster-Premieren bis zu neu aufstrebenden Hollywood-Talenten präsentiert das Pan African Film Festival (PAFF) eine breite Palette von schwarzen kreativen Werken aus der ganzen Welt, die diejenigen hervorheben, die positive Bilder verstärken und negative Stereotypen zerstören. Nirgendwo sonst kann das Publikum diese einmalige Gelegenheit finden, sich durch Film und Kunst zusammenzufinden, um neue Welten zu erforschen, neue Menschen kennenzulernen und neue Informationen und Ideen zu erwerben.

PAFF ist für die Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences ein offizielles Filmfestival für narrative Live-Action und animierte Kurzfilme.

Jedes Jahr von Zehntausenden verehrt, zeigt PAFF mehr als 175 neue Filme auf 6 Bildschirmen in modernster digitaler Projektion zur Freude eines Publikums anspruchsvoller Filmliebhaber. PAFF Publikum liebt PAFF und PAFF liebt sie. Jedes Jahr wird PAFF zu einer Pilgerreise für Teilnehmer, die aus allen USA und der Welt kommen! Bekannt für seine Branchenfelder, besondere Events und großartige Partys, laden wir Filmemacher ein, diese einmalige Gelegenheit zu nutzen, um sich mit ihrem Kernpublikum zu verbinden und die besondere Magie von PAFF zu erleben.

Haben wir Prominente erwähnt? Celeb Sichtungen: Denzel Washington, Sidney Poitier, Danny Glover, Idris Elba, Mo'Nique, Kevin Hart, Jada Pinkett-Smith, Jamie Foxx, Forest Whitaker, Phylicia Rashad, Lou Gossett, Jr., Issa Rae, Taraji P. Henson, Trevor Noah, David Oweloyo, Laurence Fishburne Bassett, Majid Michel, Alfre Woodard, Blair Underwood, Kerry Washington, Nate Parker, Salli Richardson, Dorian Missick, Jesse Williams, Michael Ealy, Anthony Anderson, Omotola, Boris Kodjoe, Whoopi Goldberg, Omari Hardwick, Chadwick Boseman, Malcolm Jamal Warner, Shia LaBeouf, CCH Pounder, Omar Epps, Sanaa King Than, John Legend, Tika Sumper, Tim Roth, Van Vicker, Gabrielle Union, Alfre Woodard, Hakeem Kae-Kazim, Wesley Snipes, Loretta Devine, Bill Duke, Lisa Raye, Kareem Abdul Jabbar, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Mario Van Peebles, Eriq LaSalle, Jurnee Smolett-Bell, Leal, Stacey Dash, Billy Dee Williams, Terrence Howard , Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Omar Benson Miller, Isaiah Washington, Joy Bryant, Regina Hall, Jussie Smollett, Robert Townsend, Ja'Net Dubois, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Djimon Hounsou, Glynn Turman, Vivica Fox, Kimberly Elise, Don Cheadle und die Liste geht weiter.

WER IST BERECHTIGT, PAFF EINZUREICHEN?



• PAFF akzeptiert Filme und Videos, die von und/oder über Menschen afrikanischer Abstammung gemacht wurden. (Der Filmemacher muss nicht afrikanischer Abstammung sein.) Vorzugsweise sollten Filme positive oder realistische Bilder darstellen.



• Filme können von jedem Genre sein — Drama, Komödie, Horror, Abenteuer, Animation, Romantik, Science-Fiction, Experimental, etc. PAFF akzeptiert Features, Kurzfilme und Webserien; Erzählungen und Dokumentationen.



• Alle Einreichungen müssen in englischer Sprache oder mit englischen Untertiteln versehen sein.



• PAFF akzeptiert die Einreichungen der laufenden Arbeiten. Ihre Einreichung muss jedoch ausreichend vollständig sein, damit unsere Programmierer der Storyline folgen und eine Entscheidung treffen können. Wir akzeptieren nur eine Work-in-Progress-Version Ihres Films, also stellen Sie sicher, dass es Ihre beste Aufnahme ist. (Wenn Sie erwarten, dass Ihre endgültige Version 90 Minuten beträgt, ist ein 45-Minuten-Rohschnitt wahrscheinlich nicht akzeptabel.) Außerdem sollten Sie, wann immer möglich, eine Beschreibung der fehlenden Szenen auf dem Bildschirm angeben.



WENN MEIN FILM AKZEPTIERT WIRD, WELCHES PROJEKTIONSFORMAT WIRD PAFF AKZEPTIEREN?



• Das Gasttheater des PAFF ist komplett digital. Die einzigen akzeptierten Projektionsformate für Spielfilme sind DCP, Online-Link und Blu-Ray. Für Kurzfilme (49 Minuten oder weniger) werden Sie aufgefordert, einen Online-Link einzureichen. Je nach Programmanforderungen können wir DCP und BluRay auch akzeptieren.



• Falls es Aktualisierungen für Projektionsformate gibt, erhalten Sie diese mit Ihrer Akzeptanzbenachrichtigung.



• Wir akzeptieren DVDs nur, wenn kein anderes Format verfügbar ist und nur als letztes Mittel. DVDs werden dringend davon abgeraten, da sie aufgrund von Überspringen, Stoppen und anderen Wiedergabefehlern für die öffentliche Präsentation unzuverlässig sind.



• PAFF akzeptiert keine wassermarkierten Filme zur öffentlichen Präsentation.


  

 
  

Entdecken Sie großartige Filme & Festivals, nur einen Klick entfernt

Registrieren
Anmelden

The Pan African Film Festival (29)



Deadlines

01 Jun 2020
Call for entries

15 Jul 2020
Early deadline

20 Sep 2020
Standard deadline

31 Oct 2020
Late deadline

10 Dec 2020
Extended deadline

5
mths

10 Jan 2021
Notification date

11 Feb 2021
23 Feb 2021

Address

6820 LaTijera Blvd. Ste 200,  90045, Los Angeles, California, United States


Festival description
Short film festival >5' 49'<
Feature film festival >50' 135'<


Qualifier festival logo qualifying festival
Festival requirements
 Film festival
 Fiction
 Documentary
 Animation
 Fantastic
 Terror
 Experimental
 Music Video
 Other
 Any Genre
 Any Theme
 Has submission fees
 International Festival
 Physical Location
 January 2017
 Production countries: Any
 Shooting countries: Any
 Director nationalities: Any
 Debut Films 
 School projects 
 Short Films  >5' 49'<
 Feature Films  >50' 135'<
 Languages 
English
 Subtitles 
English
Share on Social Networks
 Facebook 
 Tweet





Photo of The Pan African Film Festival
Photo of The Pan African Film Festival

Photo of The Pan African Film Festival
Photo of The Pan African Film Festival

English


Festival start: 11 February 2021      Festival end: 23 February 2021

Did you know each year a transformation happens in Los Angeles, CA? People from around the globe gather to attend the largest and most prestigious Black film festival in the United States. From 100 million dollar blockbuster premieres to newly emerging Hollywood talent, The Pan African Film Festival (PAFF) showcases a broad array of Black creative works from the world over, highlighting those that reinforce positive images and help to destroy negative stereotypes. Nowhere else can audiences find this unique opportunity to come together through film and art to explore new worlds, meet new people and acquire new information and ideas.

PAFF is designated as an official qualifying film festival for narrative live action and animated short films for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.

Venerated by tens of thousands every year, PAFF screens more than 175 new films across 6 screens in state of the art digital projection to the delight of an audience of sophisticated movie lovers. PAFF’s audience loves PAFF and PAFF loves them. Each year PAFF becomes a pilgrimage for attendees who hail from all over the United States and the World! Known for its industry panels, special events and great parties, we invite filmmakers to take this one-of-a-kind opportunity to connect to their core audience and experience the special magic of PAFF.

Did we mention celebrities? Celeb sightings: Denzel Washington, Sidney Poitier, Danny Glover, Idris Elba, Mo’Nique, Kevin Hart, Jada Pinkett-Smith, Jamie Foxx, Forest Whitaker, Phylicia Rashad, Lou Gossett, Jr., Issa Rae, Taraji P. Henson, Trevor Noah, David Oweloyo, Laurence Fishburne, Angela Bassett, Majid Michel, Alfre Woodard, Blair Underwood, Kerry Washington, Nate Parker, Salli Richardson, Dorian Missick, Jesse Williams, Michael Ealy, Anthony Anderson, Omotola, Boris Kodjoe, Whoopi Goldberg, Omari Hardwick, Chadwick Boseman, Malcolm Jamal Warner, Shia LaBeouf, CCH Pounder, Omar Epps, Regina King, Sanaa Lathan, John Legend, Tika Sumpter, Tim Roth, Van Vicker, Gabrielle Union, Alfre Woodard, Hakeem Kae-Kazim, Wesley Snipes, Meagan Good, Loretta Devine, Bill Duke, Lisa Raye, Kareem Abdul Jabbar, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Hill Harper, Mario Van Peebles, Eriq LaSalle, Jurnee Smollett-Bell, Sharon Leal, Stacey Dash, Billy Dee Williams, Terrence Howard, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Omar Benson Miller, Isaiah Washington, Joy Bryant, Regina Hall, Jussie Smollett, Robert Townsend, Ja'Net Dubois, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Djimon Hounsou, Glynn Turman, Vivica Fox, Kimberly Elise, Don Cheadle and the list goes on and on.

Official (Jury) Prizes:
Best Narrative Feature
Best Documentary Feature
Best Short Narrative
Best Short Documentary
Best Director - First Feature Narrative
Best Webseries
Audience Favorites
Programmers' Awards
Festival Director Awards

WHO IS ELIGIBLE TO SUBMIT TO PAFF?

• PAFF accepts films and videos made by and/or about people of African descent. (Filmmaker needn't be of African descent if film is about people of African descent.) Preferably, films should depict positive or realistic images.

• Films can be of any genre -- drama, comedy, horror, adventure, animation, romance, science fiction, experimental, etc. PAFF accepts features, shorts and web series; narratives and documentaries.

• All submissions must be in English or have English subtitles.

• Webseries should have a cumulative run time of at least 15 minutes and no more than 30 minutes.

• PAFF will accept the submissions of works in progress. However, your submission must be sufficiently complete to allow our programmers to follow the storyline and be able to make a decision. We will only accept one work-in-progress version of your film, so please make sure to make it your best shot. (If you expect your final version to be 90 minutes, a 45-minute rough cut is probably not acceptable.) Also, whenever possible, you should provide an on-screen description of missing scenes.

IF MY FILM IS ACCEPTED, WHAT PROJECTION FORMAT WILL PAFF ACCEPT?

• PAFF's host theatre is all-digital. The only accepted projection formats for Feature Films are DCP, online link and Blu-Ray. For Short Films (49 minutes or less) you will be asked to submit an online link. We may also accept DCP and BluRay depending on program needs.

• If there are any updates for projection formats, you will receive them with your acceptance notification.

• PAFF will not accept watermarked films for public presentation.



  

 
  

Discover great films & festivals, one click away

Register
Login