The Pan African Film Festival (28)



Dates limites

11 juin 2019
Appel à Inscriptions

10 juil. 2019
Date limite précoce

30 sept. 2019
Date limite standard

20 oct. 2019
Date limite retardée

20 déc. 2019
Date limite étundue

3
mois

02 janv. 2020
Date de notification

06 févr. 2020
17 févr. 2020

Adresse

6820 LaTijera Blvd. Ste 200,  90045, Los Angeles, California, United States


Description du Festival
Courts-métrages
Long-métrage


 festival de qualification
Exigences du Festival
 Fiction
 Documentaire
 Animation
 Fantastique
 Terreur
 Experimental
 Music Video
 Autres
 Tous les genres
 Tous les thèmes
 A des frais d’inscription
 Festival International
 Lieu physique
 janvier 2017
 Pays de production: Tout
 Pays de tournage: Tout
 Nationalités des directeurs: Tout
 Premiers Films 
 Projets scolaires 
 Langues 
English
 Sous-titres 
English
Partager sur les réseaux sociaux
 Facebook 
 Tweet



Photo of The Pan African Film Festival
Photo of The Pan African Film Festival

Photo of The Pan African Film Festival
Photo of The Pan African Film Festival

English
French ML


Début du Festival: 06 février 2020      Fin du Festival: 17 février 2020

Saviez-vous que chaque année, une transformation se produit à Los Angeles, Californie ? Des gens du monde entier se rassemblent pour assister au plus grand et le plus prestigieux festival du film noir aux États-Unis. Des premières à succès de 100 millions de dollars aux talents hollywoodiens émergents, The Pan African Film Festival (PAFF) présente un large éventail d'œuvres créatives noires du monde entier, mettant en évidence celles qui renforcent les images positives et aident à détruire les stéréotypes négatifs. Nulle part ailleurs, le public ne peut trouver cette occasion unique de se réunir à travers le cinéma et l'art pour explorer de nouveaux mondes, rencontrer de nouvelles personnes et acquérir de nouvelles informations et idées.

PAFF est désigné comme festival officiel de qualification pour l'action narrative en direct et les courts métrages d'animation pour l'Académie des arts et des sciences du cinéma.

Vénérée par des dizaines de milliers chaque année, PAFF projette plus de 175 nouveaux films sur 6 écrans en projection numérique à la fine pointe de la technologie pour le plus grand plaisir d'un public d'amateurs de cinéma sophistiqués. Le public de PAFF aime PAFF et PAFF les aime. Chaque année, le PAFF devient un pèlerinage pour les participants venus des États-Unis et du monde entier ! Reconnus pour ses panels industriels, ses événements spéciaux et ses grandes fêtes, nous invitons les cinéastes à saisir cette occasion unique de se connecter à leur public principal et de découvrir la magie spéciale du PAFF.

On a parlé de célébrités ? Observations de célébrités : Denzel Washington, Sidney Poitier, Danny Glover, Idris Elba, Mo'Nique, Kevin Hart, Jada Pinkett-Smith, Jamie Foxx, Forest Whitaker, Phylicia Rashad, Lou Gossett, Jr., Issa Rae, Taraji P. Henson, Trevor Noah, David Oweloyo, Laurence Fishburne, Angela Sett, Majid Michel, Alfre Woodard, Blair Underwood, Kerry Washington, Nate Parker, Salli Richardson, Dorian Missick, Jesse Williams, Michael Ealy, Anthony Anderson, Omotola, Boris Kodjoe, Whoopi Goldberg, Omari Hardwick, Chadwick Boseman, Malcolm Jamal Warner, chiite LaBeouf, CCH Pounder, Omar Epps, Regina King, Regina Lathan, John Legend, Tika Sumpter, Tim Roth, Van Vicker, Gabrielle Union, Alfre Woodard, Hakeem Kae-Kazim, Wesley Snipes, Meagan Good, Loretta Devine, Bill Duke, Lisa Raye, Kareem Abdul Jabbar, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Hill Harper, Mario Van Peebles, Eriq LaSalle, Jurnee Smollett-Bell, Sharon Stacey Dash, Billy Dee Williams, Terrence Howard , Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Omar Benson Miller, Isaiah Washington, Joy Bryant, Regina Hall, Jussie Smollett, Robert Townsend, Ja'Net Dubois, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Djimon Hounsou, Glynn Turman, Vivica Fox, Kimberly Elise, Don Cheadle et la liste continue.

QUI EST ADMISSIBLE À SE SOUMETTRE À PAFF ?



• PAFF accepte les films et vidéos réalisés par et/ou sur des personnes d'ascendance africaine. (Le cinéaste n'a pas besoin d'être d'ascendance africaine.) De préférence, les films doivent représenter des images positives ou réalistes.



• Les films peuvent être de n'importe quel genre : drame, comédie, horreur, aventure, animation, romantisme, science-fiction, expérimental, etc. PAFF accepte les longs métrages, courts métrages et séries web ; narratifs et documentaires.



• Toutes les inscriptions doivent être en anglais ou avoir des sous-titres en anglais.



• Le PAFF acceptera les inscriptions des travaux en cours. Cependant, votre inscription doit être suffisamment complète pour permettre à nos programmeurs de suivre le scénario et de prendre une décision. Nous n'accepterons qu'une seule version en cours de votre film, alors assurez-vous d'en faire le meilleur cliché. (Si vous pensez que votre version finale sera de 90 minutes, une coupe approximative de 45 minutes n'est probablement pas acceptable.) De plus, dans la mesure du possible, vous devez fournir une description à l'écran des scènes manquantes.



SI MON FILM EST ACCEPTÉ, QUEL FORMAT DE PROJECTION SERA ACCEPTÉ PAR PAFF ?



• Le théâtre hôte du PAFF est entièrement numérique. Les seuls formats de projection acceptés pour les longs métrages sont DCP, lien en ligne et Blu-Ray. Pour les courts métrages (49 minutes ou moins), il vous sera demandé de inscrire un lien en ligne. Nous pouvons également accepter DCP et BluRay selon les besoins du programme.



• S'il y a des mises à jour pour les formats de projection, vous les recevrez avec votre avis d'acceptation.



• Nous accepterons les DVD uniquement si aucun autre format n'est disponible et uniquement en dernier recours. Les DVD sont fortement déconseillés parce qu'ils ne sont pas fiables pour la présentation publique en raison de l'absence, de l'arrêt et d'autres défauts de lecture.



• Le PAFF n'accepte pas les films en filigrane pour la présentation publique.


  

 
  

Découvrez les meilleurs films et festivals, en un seul clic

S’inscrire
Connexion

The Pan African Film Festival (29)



Deadlines

01 Jun 2020
Call for entries

15 Jul 2020
Early deadline

20 Sep 2020
Standard deadline

31 Oct 2020
Late deadline

10 Dec 2020
Extended deadline

5
mths

10 Jan 2021
Notification date

11 Feb 2021
23 Feb 2021

Address

6820 LaTijera Blvd. Ste 200,  90045, Los Angeles, California, United States


Festival description
Short film festival >5' 49'<
Feature film festival >50' 135'<


Qualifier festival logo qualifying festival
Festival requirements
 Film festival
 Fiction
 Documentary
 Animation
 Fantastic
 Terror
 Experimental
 Music Video
 Other
 Any Genre
 Any Theme
 Has submission fees
 International Festival
 Physical Location
 January 2017
 Production countries: Any
 Shooting countries: Any
 Director nationalities: Any
 Debut Films 
 School projects 
 Short Films  >5' 49'<
 Feature Films  >50' 135'<
 Languages 
English
 Subtitles 
English
Share on Social Networks
 Facebook 
 Tweet





Photo of The Pan African Film Festival
Photo of The Pan African Film Festival

Photo of The Pan African Film Festival
Photo of The Pan African Film Festival

English


Festival start: 11 February 2021      Festival end: 23 February 2021

Did you know each year a transformation happens in Los Angeles, CA? People from around the globe gather to attend the largest and most prestigious Black film festival in the United States. From 100 million dollar blockbuster premieres to newly emerging Hollywood talent, The Pan African Film Festival (PAFF) showcases a broad array of Black creative works from the world over, highlighting those that reinforce positive images and help to destroy negative stereotypes. Nowhere else can audiences find this unique opportunity to come together through film and art to explore new worlds, meet new people and acquire new information and ideas.

PAFF is designated as an official qualifying film festival for narrative live action and animated short films for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.

Venerated by tens of thousands every year, PAFF screens more than 175 new films across 6 screens in state of the art digital projection to the delight of an audience of sophisticated movie lovers. PAFF’s audience loves PAFF and PAFF loves them. Each year PAFF becomes a pilgrimage for attendees who hail from all over the United States and the World! Known for its industry panels, special events and great parties, we invite filmmakers to take this one-of-a-kind opportunity to connect to their core audience and experience the special magic of PAFF.

Did we mention celebrities? Celeb sightings: Denzel Washington, Sidney Poitier, Danny Glover, Idris Elba, Mo’Nique, Kevin Hart, Jada Pinkett-Smith, Jamie Foxx, Forest Whitaker, Phylicia Rashad, Lou Gossett, Jr., Issa Rae, Taraji P. Henson, Trevor Noah, David Oweloyo, Laurence Fishburne, Angela Bassett, Majid Michel, Alfre Woodard, Blair Underwood, Kerry Washington, Nate Parker, Salli Richardson, Dorian Missick, Jesse Williams, Michael Ealy, Anthony Anderson, Omotola, Boris Kodjoe, Whoopi Goldberg, Omari Hardwick, Chadwick Boseman, Malcolm Jamal Warner, Shia LaBeouf, CCH Pounder, Omar Epps, Regina King, Sanaa Lathan, John Legend, Tika Sumpter, Tim Roth, Van Vicker, Gabrielle Union, Alfre Woodard, Hakeem Kae-Kazim, Wesley Snipes, Meagan Good, Loretta Devine, Bill Duke, Lisa Raye, Kareem Abdul Jabbar, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Hill Harper, Mario Van Peebles, Eriq LaSalle, Jurnee Smollett-Bell, Sharon Leal, Stacey Dash, Billy Dee Williams, Terrence Howard, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Omar Benson Miller, Isaiah Washington, Joy Bryant, Regina Hall, Jussie Smollett, Robert Townsend, Ja'Net Dubois, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Djimon Hounsou, Glynn Turman, Vivica Fox, Kimberly Elise, Don Cheadle and the list goes on and on.

Official (Jury) Prizes:
Best Narrative Feature
Best Documentary Feature
Best Short Narrative
Best Short Documentary
Best Director - First Feature Narrative
Best Webseries
Audience Favorites
Programmers' Awards
Festival Director Awards

WHO IS ELIGIBLE TO SUBMIT TO PAFF?

• PAFF accepts films and videos made by and/or about people of African descent. (Filmmaker needn't be of African descent if film is about people of African descent.) Preferably, films should depict positive or realistic images.

• Films can be of any genre -- drama, comedy, horror, adventure, animation, romance, science fiction, experimental, etc. PAFF accepts features, shorts and web series; narratives and documentaries.

• All submissions must be in English or have English subtitles.

• Webseries should have a cumulative run time of at least 15 minutes and no more than 30 minutes.

• PAFF will accept the submissions of works in progress. However, your submission must be sufficiently complete to allow our programmers to follow the storyline and be able to make a decision. We will only accept one work-in-progress version of your film, so please make sure to make it your best shot. (If you expect your final version to be 90 minutes, a 45-minute rough cut is probably not acceptable.) Also, whenever possible, you should provide an on-screen description of missing scenes.

IF MY FILM IS ACCEPTED, WHAT PROJECTION FORMAT WILL PAFF ACCEPT?

• PAFF's host theatre is all-digital. The only accepted projection formats for Feature Films are DCP, online link and Blu-Ray. For Short Films (49 minutes or less) you will be asked to submit an online link. We may also accept DCP and BluRay depending on program needs.

• If there are any updates for projection formats, you will receive them with your acceptance notification.

• PAFF will not accept watermarked films for public presentation.



  

 
  

Discover great films & festivals, one click away

Register
Login